Department of Education

Schools autism standards

A set of standards from the AET, to enable educational settings to evaluate your practice in addressing the needs of pupils on the autism spectrum.

Tip – the competency framework are best used when you download the document (not viewed in your browser) and work through the competency framework using Adobe Acrobat Reader.

The standards have been designed for use across all types of educational settings from mainstream to special and specialist, for pupils from the ages of 5 – 16 years, at all levels of ability.

The standards mirror the categories established for the AET schools training. There are interactive links from the set of standards to resources that demonstrate how a school or provider might implement practice or policy. The standards also link to the AET schools autism competency framework, the SEND code of practice and the Ofsted framework.

The 2016 edition of the standards have been developed by Genium for the AET in consultation with a range of partners. The development team include Project manager: Martin Kerem, Core authors: Mary Daly, Annette English and Allie O’Brien.

The original standards were developed by the Autism Centre for Education and Research (ACER) at the University of Birmingham in collaboration with three local authority consultants with expertise in autism outreach and in developing standards for schools and educational settings. The team was led by Dr Glenys Jones from ACER, in collaboration with (given here in alphabetical order), Lesley Baker, Annette English, Dr. Penny Lacey, Linda Lyn-Cook and Christopher Robertson.

Both versions of the standards were piloted across a range of schools and settings.

Revised version – Daly, M., English, A. and O’Brien. (2016) AET schools autism standards.
London: Autism Education Trust

Original version – Jones, G., Baker, L., English, A., Lacey, P., Lyn-Cook, L. and Robertson, C. (2012) AET National Autism Standards.
London: Autism Education Trust


Lost your password?